new years eve

didn’t go the way i expected it to this year. last year i was out of a job and spend the wee hours of the morning that year at the home of my mother’s coworkers. essentially i was watching a bootleg copy of a movie and kept me entertained until i just decided to watch something else.

this year almost of the same just not out of a job. when i came home from work that evening found that my aunt had decided to drop by. this definitely put a dent in my plan to spend it in front of tv and watching new year’s rockin eve and the countdown in time square.

so when new york brought in the new year i was taking a nap while my aunt was downstairs sleep with a foster baby. my mother at about 11 decided she wanted to go to her coworkers and had me drop her off since i didn’t want to go. then called me in the wee hours of the morning to pick her up which roused me out of bed to drive to that coworkers house. it was another interesting new year though annoying.

now why was my aunt over at our place at such an odd time. well she’s been going through some drama. she has a grandson who unfortunately is battling a mental illness. the baby is actually from another foster child who unfortunately isn’t settled in her life as she’s very young. this only sets up half the story

because of her grandson and the foster daughter really wanting to take an interest in her child she feels as if home isn’t the best place to be right now. so as she maintains temporary guardianship of this baby who isn’t related to her by blood she’s definitely feeling the pressure.

for now the baby is in good hands although the hands of a senior citizen essentially although sooner or later mother should get her baby back. bottom line right now is that family drama that really has little to do with me has only served to impact me in some minor way.

though take me out of the equation, i feel bad for the baby. the baby is the prize for the taking but the person who should have the baby isn’t in a good position to get her back. if only there was a way i could help and less pressure on my aunt.

i also wish i could help my cousin the grandson who is suffering mental illness. he’s had some issues over the years primarily anger, but now i’m hearing schizophrenia. so drama on different fronts is never good.

Leave a Reply

