the 6th grade

sixth grade chalkboard

the sixth grade was a weird time for me. actually weird doesn’t really describe this period. i felt as if my classmates hated me and my parents hated me although i realize they had a lot of issues of their own. they used the pretense of school to not be very happy with me.

what i realize today is that i wasn’t happy back then thanks to a variety of issues. i was never a good student back then but for that time it was still a convenient target for my parents. my teachers back then had a job to do and they chose to do it. needless to say things weren’t looking up for me back then.

about my classmates, i realize we were all kids back then with our various psychologies and knew nothing more. to illustrate this point i want to talk about a crush named regina. she was one of my more intense crushes back then.

regina was a pretty girl with a nice pair of calves i often noticed because she wore skirts with either regular socks that left her calves bare or a pair of stockings. if i knew nothing else about her i liked her legs.

Calf-Muscles

unfortunately as time went on back then i realized she came off as if she didn’t like me. she made it clear what she thought of me and it was often unflattering. in fact she only communicated this the way a girl of about 11 or 12 would. girls of a certain age can be quite cruel and it’s mostly words that hurt more than any physical action. a lot of this i can attribute to immaturity more than anything.

one time she said something i didn’t like during recess and i went off on her. she didn’t miss a beat and my male classmates of the time were enjoying the show. what i can recognize now is that she either may not have been the one for me at the time. or i just plain had no idea how to turn this situation around.

indeed, perhaps it was meant to go down this way because both of our immaturity of the time didn’t allow either of us to see past the situation. was it possible she’s expressing herself that way because she really liked me. her words caused me to believe not only no but “HELL NO”.

even after that episode i still never forgot about her. even attempted to talk to her on MySpace and sent a mushy message even after she noted that she doesn’t remember me. i made sure to note that i really had a crush on her back in the day but to my disappointment – though not surprise – she never responded. she is on fb however and have debated whether or not i should contact her there.

i did say 6th grade was weird. that year the boys started to play with the girls. many of the girls got a quick slap on their backsides at random times by the boys especially when our teacher was outside of the classroom. if this activity happened now this wouldn’t be acceptable at all.

also this was the only time i saw a girl in her panties. right in our classroom two boys surrounded this girl and pulled up her skirt. if i recall her underwear seemed childish which makes sense because we were so young. consider this another thing that was unacceptable back then.

Leave a Reply

