reunions

my mother years ago went off on me because of the episode with natalie. she has a basic understanding of my relationship history. that very brief conversation with nat gave her a quick idea – i haven’t had much success. so on this occasion she was quick to let me know that.

now i mention this episode with family to note that recently i went out of town to a family reunion. mostly my excuse is that this is a vacation away from home and i get to see another part of the country and in this case it’s not a regular locale that we would go anyway. to be sure this was the first one i been to in years.

and while not being entirely close to my extended family some of my bad habits emerged. i don’t like to be hugged, the talkative ones trying to get my attention, the need to take pics with my need to stay out of the shot, then everyone has their own expectations especially with a mother who isn’t that mobile anymore, etc. i don’t always enjoy these expectations of my other family members.

my mother told me that her first cousin tried to talk to me and i never said anything. which i explained to my mother that if she said anything to me i never received it. in fact i was not aware that she said anything to me. so needless to say my mother said something quick about it knowing about some of my behaviors. although over the years i’ve attempted to explain them.

hell, i told this story once about a coworker who told too much about her personal life. she talked about sex with some dude and this same dude combing her hair. this was not directed at me because we never had that type of relationship it was towards a coworker and i heard it. told this coworker that this was “too much sh*t”.

regardless my way of letting her know i didn’t want to be bothered involved blowing a rape whistle at her. she didn’t always talk to me because i was often a d*ck to her. but i blew my whistle whenever she asked me what time it was. the second time she just shot me this look and stormed off.

on a few occasions with family i make the conversation so one-sided on the other person’s end that well they move on to another person. this doesn’t always work the ones who insist on breaking through will continue. the ones who don’t have the interest or energy will say something quick and stay back. sometimes they just complain to my mother later and usually she’ll tell me.

i’ve learned to stay to myself during family reunions and that often doesn’t stop everyone. they try to figure out what my issue is or stay back which means they’ll force themselves on me and do more than say hello. and i often recoil and give a one-word answer.

regardless for all the good that has happened for me the past year – especially with the job that has given me paid time off which i used for this reunion. then this and my negative reactions to people i’m likely to see only once a year if that.

btw, it has been a few years since i attended a reunion. the last one could be a few years ago when i was at “the show” and here in chicago. i had to work that weekend so i never did any of the events other than a quick trip to a local museum. it was a weird year as it was during that time i worked with candace.

funny part about this was – or not funny if you prefer – my mother wanted me to be part of a group picture. she just worried me into getting into the photograph. well i did but my uncle the self-appointed photographer decided he needed to see me in pic. well i never accepted that and wasted everyone’s time by keeping myself hidden until they allowed me to step away so they could take a group pic. hell everyone even parted in the middle to expose me and i just stepped behind everyone. i was truly a piece of work back then.

Leave a Reply

