Odds & ends 

I’m writing this post on my iPad in the AM as my aunt and my brother a cleaning crew are engaged in helping out around the house. It’s in a state of upheaval because my aunt is into interior decorating and my brother  is helping to build computer desks the cleaning crew cleans the house. The cleaning crew is necessary because this is what the doctors request over a month ago for my mother who had a brief stay in the hospital, as a result her immune system had been weakened.

At this moment my aunt and mother are upstairs doing some work in the bathroom while my door is closed with me typing this post. So while still laying in bed this morning there’s some drills machines and discussion going on and it’s a little much as my day is really just getting started.

Of course all of this is the result of my mother’s ongoing health issues that began last summer with a diagnosis of a compound fracture in her hip. So she needs some help around the house and probably a lot more than I can offer and it’s certainly needed but the outright upheaval is irritating.

At least as I got home in the evening I’m typing on a new computer desk that had been put together by yours truly. At least it’s not on a more bulky desk that it had been on and certainly with a lot more room and space. So at this moment I shall not complain too much.

In other news….I got my third raise at work recently. Remember that movie Mo’ Money….I’m feeling it now!

My assistant manager noted my attention to detail and suggested perhaps I can be a buyer although I hate to get up that early but eh it’s another job I can learn. I should add where was this attention to detail at the bank as that was one of the things they didn’t mind hitting me on….

I express interest in moving up at least as a supervisor, and then it hits me that an old friend anthony was right. While he often likes to say that if you’re not like them – management at “the show” they won’t look at you to move up, he often says that in the promotion department I was took quiet. I have to express interest and back it up with action. Ask questions about numbers, labor, and operations….

So if I had done this at “the show” with the right people it could’ve happened and perhaps i would be frustrated still as it’s possible that the management team wouldn’t be the right fit. Before getting to that step I’d have gotten myself shot down in the worst way. As stated in another post becoming a supervisor there wouldn’t be worth it as other than slightly higher pay I’d still get no benefits. I get the title and the pay but that’s all!

The reason this is always a positive development was that the management at “the show” didn’t believe in giving raises. I had no benefits and it took almost the last year I was there to purchase benefits outside of work. Which enabled me to get some necessary work done on my teeth.

Either good news for my 2nd anniversary of my time at the current job and over two years out from “the show”.

Leave a Reply

