two week notice

923dc16c7c4699dea3afe2906ddd2805767f19b3ca7dc52f76ae8e50702cca28

you may recognize the title of this post. it was written near the end of last year and then took it down. now i rewrite it the last few weeks at my former job with a movie theater – although i have since returned to this business although a different company. it was the most highly anticipate moment and it took me some time before it happened. perhaps one day i’ll tell more stories about the prolonged job hunt while there.

now to be sure, often i talk sh*t about this place and often indicated how bad i thought it was. my issues were at times with both managers and coworkers. especially the ones who were about creating drama and how often i seemed to have walked into it in spite of my attempts to stay away. all the same the drama with anyone ended essentially the moment i put in my two weeks at the suggestion – perhaps mandatory – of one of my managers after i told him i’m quitting.

i told a precious few of my coworkers about my plan to leave. and i told them that i got a job offer, and i finally found one after so much time. it was time to prepare for the ill-fated job at the bank. i was doing new hire things for the bank while i finished off my time at the soon to be former job.

what was it new hire paperwork, fingerprints, background checks, and even oh my God a drug test. a lot of things to fit in before it was time to start the new job.

in the meanwhile time for the victory lap. many of the managers who i felt talked sh*t about me looking for reasons to just write me up or get me in trouble were curious about the fact that i was leaving. they may not have wanted me to stay themselves, but they wanted to know where i was going. i found it really funny…

the scheduling manager was giving me the speech outside of the concession stand about how i was leaving them. i was tempted to give the rundown about why i was leaving and how bad this place was. the manager giggling said don’t say it…

btw, one of the managers was leaving roughly during the same period of time i was. she suggested she’d want to work at a bank and i’d be like i won’t recommend you. while she was a piece of work during most of my time there she was probably miserable too hence she was often the way she was. she found her way out and surely many breathed a sigh of relief when she left.

either way a few of the managers continued to speak about my impending departure with many of them saying “i don’t believe it”. bottom line was that it’s been time to do something more make more money, get some benefits, and more.

the last day i worked people were speaking about it, i was saying my last good byes. shared stares with those coworkers who for whatever reason didn’t care much for me. i barely did any work that night.

so either way at the end of the night shook hands and said my final good byes to everyone. including one of the security guards i knew. next thing i knew off to the bank i went.

One thought on “two week notice

  1. Pingback: Off to new adventures… | Feeling No Love

Leave a Reply

